Collaborators

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Illinois | Indiana | Kansas | Louisiana | Maryland | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Oklahoma | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Tennessee | Texas | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Wisconsin


Alabama

Kristin L. Woods, Ph.D.
Alabama Extension
PO Box 40
120 Court St.
Grove Hill, Alabama 36451
Phone: (251) 753–1164
E-mail: WOODSKL@aces.edu


Alaska

Meriam Karlsson, Ph.D.
Professor of Horticulture
University of Alaska Fairbanks
106 Arctic Health Res. Bldg.
303 O'Neill Bldg.
PO Box 757200
Fairbanks, AK 99775-7200
Phone: (907) 474-7005
Fax: (907) 474-1538
E-mail: mgkarlsson@alaska.edu


Arizona

Channah Rock, Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Extension Specialist-Water Quality
Dept. of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science
University of Arizona
Maricopa Agricultural Center
37860 W Smith-Enke Rd.
Maricopa, AZ 85138
Office: (520) 374-6258
Cell: (480) 628-9794
E-mail: crock@email.arizona.edu

Paula Rivadeneira, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist,
Food Safety and Wildlife
Dept. of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science
University of Arizona
Yuma Agricultural Center
6425 W 8th St.
Yuma, AZ 85364
Cell: (928) 919-2611
E-mail: pkrivadeneira@email.arizona.edu

Kurt Nolte, Ph.D.
Director, Yuma Agricultural Center
Dept. of Plant Sciences
University of Arizona
Yuma Agricultural Center
6425 W 8th St
Yuma, AZ 85364
Office: (928) 782-3836
E-mail: knolte@email.arizona.edu


Arkansas


California

Linda J. Harris, Ph.D.
Cooperative Extension Specialist
University of California-Davis
Dept. of Food Science & Technology
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8598
Phone: (530) 754-9485
Fax: (530) 752-4759
E-mail: ljharris@ucdavis.edu

Trevor V. Suslow, Ph.D.
Cooperative Extension Specialist
Dept. of Vegetable Crops
University of California
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8683
Phone: (530) 754- 8313
Fax (530) 752-4554
E-mail : tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu


Colorado

Marisa Bunning, Ph.D.
Colorado State University
Dept. of Food Science & Human Nutrition
Ft. Collins, CO 80523-1571
Phone: (970) 491-7180
Cell Phone: (970) 215-3778
Fax: (970) 491-7252
E-mail: marisa.bunning@colostate.edu


Connecticut

Diane Wright Hirsch, MPH, RD
Senior Extension Educator/Food Safety
University of Connecticut
New Haven County Extension Center
305 Skiff Street
North Haven, CT 06473
Phone: (203) 407-3163
Fax: (203) 407-3176
E-mail: diane.hirsch@uconn.edu


Florida

Michelle D. Danyluk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Food Microbiology
UF/IFAS CREC
700 Experiment Station Rd.
Lake Alfred, FL 33803
Phone: (863) 956-8654
Fax: (863) 956-4631
E-mail: mddanyluk@ufl.edu

Renee Goodrich Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Florida
Food Science & Human Nutrition Department
Food Science & Extension Specialist -
Food and Beverage Processing
329 FSHN Bldg. Newell Drive
PO Box 110370
Gainesville, FL 32611-0370
Phone: (352) 392-1991, ext. 208
E-mail: goodrich@ufl.edu

Keith R. Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor, FSHN
University of Florida
359 FSHN Bldg., Newell Dr.
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 294-3910
E-mail: keiths29@ufl.edu


Georgia

William C. Hurst, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
301 Food Science Building
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: (706) 542-0993
Fax: (706) 542-9066
E-mail: bhurst@uga.edu

Marilyn C. Erickson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of Georgia
Center for Food Safety
1109 Experiment St.
Griffin, GA 30223
Phone: (770) 412-4742
Fax: (770) 229-3216
E-mail: mericks@uga.edu


Hawaii

Lynn Nakamura-Tengan
Extension Educator
310 Kaahumanu Ave., Bldg 214
Kahului, HI 96732
Phone: (808) 244-3242, ext 233
Fax: (808) 244-7089
E-mail: lynnnaka@hawaii.edu
www.ctahr.hawaii.edu/NEW/


Illinois

Mosbah M. Kushad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
University of Illinois
279 EMRL
1201 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-5691
Fax: (217) 333-8816
E-mail: kushad@uiuc.edu


Indiana


Kansas

Londa Vanderwal Nwadike, Ph.D.
State Extension Food Safety Specialist
Kansas State University/University of Missouri
22201 W. Innovation Dr.
Olathe, KS 66061
Phone: (913) 307-7391
E-mail: lnwadike@ksu.edu

 


Louisiana

Achyut Adhikari, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Extension Food Safety Specialist
LSU AgCenter
School of Nutrition and Food Science
263 Knapp Hall
110 LSU Union Square
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: (225) 578-2529
Fax: (225) 578-4443
E-mail: ACAdhikari@agcenter.lsu.edu

 


Maryland

Christopher S. Walsh, Ph.D.
Professor, Horticulture
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture
2136 Plant Sciences Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: (301) 405-4351
Fax: (301) 314-9308
E-mail: cswalsh@umd.edu


Michigan

Leslie D. Bourquin
Professor and Food Safety Specialist
Dept. of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Michigan State University
139A G. Malcolm Trout FSHN Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1224
Phone: (517) 353-3329
E-mail: bourqui1@msu.edu

Phil Tocco
Agriculture/Natural Resources
MSU Extension-Jackson County
E-mail: tocco@msu.edu
Website: MSU Agrifood Safety Workgroup


Minnesota

Michele Schermann, RN MS
Research Fellow, Agricultural Safety and Health
University of Minnesota
1390 Eckles Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108-6005
Phone: (612) 624-7444
Fax: (612) 624-3005
E-mail: scher019@umn.edu
Website: http://safety.cfans.umn.edu


Missouri

Londa Vanderwal Nwadike, Ph.D.
State Extension Food Safety Specialist
Kansas State University/University of Missouri
105 East 5th Street, Suite 200
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 482-5860
E-mail: nwadikel@missouri.edu


Montana

Lynn C. Paul, EdD, RD
MSU Extension Food and Nutrition Specialist
101 Romney
PO Box 173370
Bozeman, MT 59717-3370
E-mail: lpaul@montana.edu
Phone: (406) 994-5702
Fax: (406) 994-7300


Nebraska

Sarah Browning
Extension Educator, Horticulture
Nebraska Extension in Lancaster County
444 Cherrycreek Road, Suite A
Lincoln, NE 68528
Phone: (402) 441-7180
E-mail: sbrowning2@unl.edu


New Jersey

Wesley L. Kline, Ph.D.
Agricultural Agent (Associate Professor)
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Cumberland County
291 Morton Ave.
Millville, NJ 08332-9776
Phone: (856) 451-2800
Fax: (856) 451-4206
E-mail: wkline@rcre.rutgers.edu

Richard W. VanVranken
County Agricultural Agent
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Atlantic Co.
6260 Old Harding Highway
Mays Landing, NJ 08330
Phone: (609) 625-0056
Fax: (609) 625-3646
E-mail: vanvranken@rcre.rutgers.edu

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Dept. of Food Science
65 Dudley Rd.
Rutgers University
State University of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8520
Phone: (732) 982-7475
Fax: (732) 932-6776
E-mail: schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
Website: http://foodsci.rutgers.edu/schaffner


New Mexico

Nancy C. Flores, Ph.D.
Food Technology Specialist
New Mexico State University
Dept. of Extension Home Economics
PO Box 30003 MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
Phone: (585) 646-1179
Fax: (575) 646-1889
E-mail: naflores@nmsu.edu


New York

Elizabeth A. Bihn, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Dept. of Food Science
630 West North Street
Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 787-2625
Fax: (315) 787-2216
E-mail: eab38@cornell.edu

Randy W. Worobo, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Dept. of Food Science
630 West North Street
Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 787-2279
Fax: (315) 787-2284
E-mail: rww8@cornell.edu

Marvin P. Pritts, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Dept. of Horticulture
119 Plant Science
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone: (607)255-1778
E-mail: mpp3@cornell.edu

Anusuya Rangarajan, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Dept. of Horticulture
121 Plant Science
Ithaca, NY 15853
Phone: (607) 255-1780
E-mail: ar47@cornell.edu


North Carolina

Benjamin Chapman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Food Safety Specialist
Department of 4-H
Youth Development and
Family & Consumer Sciences
North Carolina State University, NC Cooperative Extension
Phone: (919) 515-8099
Cell: (919) 809-3205
E-mail: benjamin_chapman@ncsu.edu

Chris Gunter
Assistant Professor
Vegetable Production
230 Kilgore Hall, Box 7609
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7609
Phone: (919) 513-2807
Fax: (919) 515-2505
E-mail: chris_gunter@ncsu.edu

Diane T. Ducharme
GAPs Program Coordinator and
Extension Associate in Horticulture & Food Safety
NC MarketReady
NC State University at the
NC Research Campus
600 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
Phone: (704) 250-5402
Fax: (704) 250-5409
E-mail: Diane_Ducharme@ncsu.edu


Ohio

Ashley Kulhanek
Agriculture and Natural Resources
Extension Educator
Medina County
The Ohio State University
120 West Washington Street, Suite 1L
Medina, OH 44256
Phone: (330) 725-4911, ext. 106
E-mail: kulhanek.5@osu.edu
Website: www.producesafety.osu.edu

Sanja Ilic
Assistant Professor and State Food Safety Specialist
The Ohio State University
Department of Human Sciences, College of Education and Human Ecology
1945 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-4076
E-mail: ilic.2@osu.edu

Melanie L. Lewis Ivey
State Fruit Pathology Extension Specialist and Fresh Produce Safety Specialist
The Ohio State University
Department of Plant Pathology
1680 Madison Avenue
Wooster, OH  44691
Phone: (330) 263-3841
E-mail: ivey.14@osu.edu


Oklahoma

Lynn Brandenberger
Professor & Extension/Research
Oklahoma State University
Horticulture
358 Ag Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078-6027
Phone: (405) 744-5408
Fax: (405) 744-9709
E-mail: lynn.brandenberger@okstate.edu

William G. McGlynn
Professor of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture
Oklahoma State University
Food & Ag. Products Center Room
Stillwater, OK 74078-6027
Phone: (405) 744-7573
E-mail: william.mcglynn@okstate.edu

Materials Provided Food Technology Fact Sheets:


Oregon


Pennsylvania

Luke F. LaBorde, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Food Science
Penn State University
Phone: (814) 863-2298
Fax: (814) 863-6132
E-mail: lfl5@psu.edu
Website: http://foodsafety.cas.psu.edu/


Tennessee

Annette Wszelaki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Commercial Vegetable Production
Extension Specialist
The University of Tennessee
361 Ellington Plant Sciences
2431 Joe Johnson Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37996-4561
Phone: (865) 974-7208
E-mail: awszelak@utk.edu

Faith Critzer
Assistant Professor
Food Safety Extension Specialist
The University of Tennessee
Food Science & Technology
208 Food Science & Technology Building
2510 River Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: (865) 974-7331
E-mail: faithc@utk.edu 


Texas

Juan R. Anciso, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Extension Vegetable Specialist
Texas Cooperative Extension
2401 East Highway 83
Weslaco, Texas 78596
Phone: (956) 968-5581
Fax: (956) 969-5639
E-mail: j-anciso@tamu.edu

Materials Provided:


Vermont

Ginger Nickerson, PhD
GAPs Outreach Coordinator
UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture
106 High Point Center, Suite 300
Colchester, VT 05446
Phone: (802) 656-5490
Cell: (802) 249-6701
Fax: (802) 656-8874
E-mail: gnickers@uvm.edu


Virginia

Rob Williams, Ph.D.
Extension Food Safety Specialist
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Food Science & Technology
Food Science and Technology Bldg.
Blacksburg, VA 20461-0327
Phone: (540) 231-4106
Fax: (540) 231-9293
E-mail: rowilli5@vt.edu

Laura K. Strawn, PhD
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Virginia Tech - Eastern Shore AREC
33446 Research Drive
Painter, VA 23420
Office: (757) 414-0724, ext. 12
Cell: (714) 450-0629
E-mail: Lstrawn@vt.edu


Washington

B. Susie Craig
Professor
Area Specialist Food Safety and Health
Washington Stage University
4727 227th Place SE
Sammamish, WA 98075
Phone: (206) 910-0528
E-mail: scraig@wsu.edu
Website: www.germcity.wsu.edu


Wisconsin

Barbara H. Ingham, Ph.D.
Professor & Food Safety Specialist
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept. of Food Science
1605 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608) 263-7383
Fax: (608) 262-6872
E-mail: bhingham@wisc.edu